The Old Man and the Sea by Ernest Hemingway

IMG_6545

I have been dying to get my hands on some Hemingway; having already own 3 of his works I’ve been waiting for the right moment to be able to lose myself in a book and give it the attention it needs. So last night, after sitting in a reading slum for a few days, in an act of frustration I picked up this little one and began reading with quite a forceful huff.

I have been in love with the idea of Hemingway for a while now; guilty of being an avid Pinterest-er, Hemingway is in abundance for his quotes to wandering up my feed and for me to pin them to “Romance at that” board. After scrounging through “Books To Read Before You Die” blogs many times, The Old Man and the Sea has popped up there, so inevitably it made it onto my To Be Read list, graduated into my To Be Read pile and then contributed to my To Be Read bookcase.

Alas, no more! 

It has been read.

These few lines stood out at me;

‘The fish is my friend too,’ he said aloud. ‘I have never seen or heard of such a fish. But I must kill him. I am glad we do not have to try to kill the stars.’

Imagine if each day a man must try to kill the moon, he thought. The moon runs away. But imagine if a man each day should have to try to kill the sun? We were born lucky, he thought.

Hemingway is able to capture this impossibly complex thought, romanticizing the concept in the most Hemingway-way possible. Being the man he was, the almost patriarchal view on other living creatures is imminent, but what shines through all that is the respect and almost chivalry between man and fish on a worthy life, is worth some consideration into the many layers to a personality which may not only be realized through their actions.

I’ll continue to ponder over this one for a while…

Thanks Ern, for the beautiful first read!

 

I totally felt like Dumbledore when I said alas…

forgive me.

2 thoughts on “The Old Man and the Sea by Ernest Hemingway

Leave a Reply

