I’ll Give You The Sun by Jandy Nelson

6/10

Before I read this bright book, I had been bathed in many praises of the novel from online Bookstagrammers, and the cover kept popping up all over my feed. So I read a little bit about it; seeming like a typical YA read, marking similarities to John Green who I hold in high praises. But the cover was pretty; I could’ve done with an easy read so I dove into my poor student pockets once again. *sighs*

I read this ultimately summer novel back in November (yeah), and I promise you, I was engrossed by around page 3. I’d like to appreciate this book not just as a piece of writing but as such a creative piece visually. I mean, look at those pages!

Instantly liking both Noah and Jude, as they turn from the innocent kids you just want to protect and watch live a happy life, into dark and twisty teenagers who are just so lost and who you want to save. There is an certain theme of mystery against the storyline, where our narrators lie to each other and even to the reader; so that the most heartfelt betrayal is felt by both the characters and readers.

No, seriously; there’s a part where I gasped and yelled into my empty bedroom: “WHAT?! NO! HOW COULD YOU?” It’s brutal, trust me.

There are so many characters in this novel; few, if any, being truly happy. All of our characters have issues; big, oh-that’s-so-tragic issues. I’ll Give You The Sun is about broken people who when together can survive. Yes, yes cheesy I know; but true.

*Rendition of High School Musical’s ‘We’re All In This Together’

I’ve veered, a little.

This book fascinated me on a personal level as well; in regards to twins. I’ve always wanted a twin; being an only child for 11 years, and my mum being half a set of twin. I’ve always been in close proximity to them and the frankly weird crap that goes on between twins. Jude and Noah would give each other a piece of the world; for example; “I’ll trade you the moon and stars for the ocean.” They owned the world in their minds; hence the title I’ll Give You The Sun.

“”I love you“, I say to him, only it comes out “hey.”

So damn much,”he says back, only it comes out “dude.””

My favorite quotes from this book go on forever.

“This is what I want: I want to grab my brother’s hand and run back through time, losing years like coats falling from our shoulders.”

I don’t feel I’ve given our author enough credit here. This book is beautifully written with metaphors and similes which stopped me in my reading tracks to actually think about them and smile. This book, I felt, was a little young for me and would have rocked my 13 year old world; but still; effective none the less.

“”He has a very strange face; I don’t know if you notice. God was very drunk when he made him. A little bit of this. A little bit of that. Brown eye. Green eye. Crooked nose, crooked mouth. Lunatic smile. Chipped tooth. Scar here, scar there. It is a puzzle.””

I enjoyed this one; I really did. There was a questionable decision at the end but I can overlook it if I try hard enough.

Reading this felt like what I imagined being in the mind of a stoned artist would feel like.

Leave a Reply

