The Opposite of Loneliness by Marina Keegan

tumblr_nwa0yfod4L1uj9l4bo1_1280

SO. I finished reading The Opposite of Loneliness a few weeks ago and my, my what a read! What an absolute inspiration Marina Keegan was and the even more inspiring she would have become! I’m sure we would have been familiar with her name tacked to the bottom of novels or newspaper articles; now her story is tacked to my heart. (cheesy but true)

But seriously, though. The girl got talent. (!!!!!!!!!!)
I think that’s what I love about reading and occasionally writing, is that your story; your words, they never leave. They still have an impact even if you are done writing it.

Anyway, back to this mini masterpiece.

I can honestly say that her stories have stuck with me. Even now, I find myself thinking about the (MILD SPOILERS) woman who adopted the little girl. I found that story so infinitely sad, I just can’t seem to shake it.
And her honesty! Wow, she wrote without fear!
Her story is a sad one, the introduction in itself had me tearing up. And the phrase that just keeps being repeated in my mind over and over again when I think of her is that “It’s just not fair.”

It’s not fair.

Marina Keegan, you have touched me! I can’t thank you enough for your words and being able to relate to you and they way you see the world.
So many quotes I loved from this collection but amongst them, my favourite (which of course ended up as a caption on my Instagram) was

“Do you wanna leave soon?
No, I want enough time to be in love with everything.
And I cry because everything is so beautiful and so short.”
From the poem “Bygones”.

Not to mention this little gem (that ended up on my Pinterest, naturally) that opened this memoir.

“We don’t have a word for the opposite of loneliness, but if we did, I could say that’s what I want in life.”

I find it hard to rate this book because it was so diverse!

I give a 8andhalf/10 (I WISH THERE WAS MORE).

http://theoppositeofloneliness.com

Leave a Reply

